Reverse Alignment Store
raison d'être ‎"Tales From The Tabula Rasa (Early Works 1988-1991)" 2CD

raison d'être ‎"Tales From The Tabula Rasa (Early Works 1988-1991)" 2CD

1: This is not a new album!
2: This does not sound like raison d'être!
3: This is raison d'être from another time and world!
'Tales from the Tabula Rasa' presents raison d'être in its earliest form, when there was no past and only future. This was the birth of raison d'être and the creative music mind of Peter Andersson. In one way it can be seen as the first particles to the seed that later became the established raison d'être sound in the 1990's. In the other way it can be seen as the evil twin seed that was left to die in an early stage, like if it was a stillborn or an infanticide. Nevertheless it is a period of time that can not completely be forgotten; a time when the first chapter of raison d'être was written. The music is heavily influenced by ancient myths, legends, religion, philosophy and history. The output is referred to tales rather than songs. There is a story told in each and every sequence.
Most of the material is previously unreleased on CD but some are known from the collection album 'Reflections From the Time of Opening'. Almost all the tracks are taken from three unofficial cassette releases from 1991, the year when raison d'être was born. A small portion is even earlier,from a pre-raison d'être project called D:Combe, active between 1988-1990. All material has been reworked in 2014. To the large extent the tracks are still the same, only some very annoying sounds or parts have been removed, and mainly orchestral sound samples have been replaced with better and more expressive versions. Six tracks from the original cassettes were excluded on the CD-set since they were too irritating. The exclusion made place for the D:Combe material which has been undergoing a more cosmetic treatment through a harmonized reverb becoming more hypnotic and dronelike. The fragments presented here are from the most experimental recordings, and the normal D:Combe sound was far from this, but still very primitive. Also changed is a pair of known track titles, they have returned to their original idea of spelling.
However, customers who buy 'Tales from the Tabula Rasa' from the raison d'etre bandcamp webshop will get the six missing tracks as free bonus download!
Those bonus tracks are:
- De L'Esprit / In the Maze
- Eve and the Serpent
- The Garden of Eden
- Qi - Exalting Breathe
- Die Âmes Horiein / The Beginning of the End Beyond the Beyond
- Explorer [In fact this is the very first raison d'être composition]
'Tales from the Tabula Rasa' contains 150 minutes of music (excluding bonus material) and comes in a 6-panel Digipak enriched with photos by Roman Sirotin and painting by Jennifer Gordon and Roman Sirotin.
155 SEK